Religious Studies

Religious StudiesRE
Religious Studies is taught across all years and abilities. It is compulsory up to and including Year 11. There is the required teaching of Religious Studies in Year 12/13 also but only those taking the AS or A Level will sit an examination in the subject. We teach about belief and faith but there is no expectation of such on the pupil’s behalf. All faiths and belief systems are treated with respect and courtesy so theists, atheists and agnostics may feel comfortable and valued within the lessons.

Year 7 and 8

We seek to enable pupils to make links between religious and secular thought, to interpret and express insights, to show coherent and understanding of faiths and evaluate them, to analyse belief and justify their views. The top pupils will be able to show in depth analysis, give independent, well informed and highly reasoned insights and provide well-substantiated and balanced conclusions. We use the Warwickshire agreed syllabus for Religious Studies for assessment. This enables us to review and enable pupil progression effectively.

Year 7 (2 full lessons per week).

Topics: Big Questions, Hinduism, Judaism, Islam, Sikhism, and Thematic Study

Year 8 (1 full lesson per week).

Topics: Buddhism and Christianity.

Year 9, 10 and 11

We follow the AQA examination board GCSE in Religious Studies. This compares issues within society and Life with Religious beliefs. We consider the beliefs and practises of the Christian and Buddhist faiths as a matter of course. Pupils learn how religious believers consider such things as crime, relationships, life and death, human rights and justice. We consider secular concepts too to try and ensure a balance of view and understanding. Each class has three lessons over two weeks in years 9, 10 and 11.  They will sit the examination at the end of year 11.

Religious Studies GCSE (full course) Specification: Specification A (8062)


Textbook: AQA GCSE (9-1) Religious Studies Specification A

Exams:There are two examinations. Component 1: A Study of Religion (Christianity and Buddhism) Component 2: Thematic Studies

Current Year 9.
Year 9: A Study of Christianity (beliefs, teachings and practices). A Study of Buddhism (beliefs and teachings)

Current Year 10 & 11. Year 10: A Study of Buddhism (practices). Thematic Study. Year 11: Thematic Study. Revision and exam work on all units.

Post 16

Sixth Form Prospectus - Please click here


Print Email

Copyright © 2021 Lawrence Sheriff School              Site arthouse design
Lawrence Sheriff School Academy Trust is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales with company number 8963659    
whose registered office is at Lawrence Sheriff School, Clifton Road, Rugby, Warwickshire, CV21 3AG